Crossfit Addict a.k.a. Crackfit

Becoming a retired athlete is definitely hard.  Most former athletes warn me that I’ll most likely gain weight after quitting the team.  Athletes become used to eating large amounts and burning it via intense training. When you stop training as intense, you gain weight because you keep that athlete appetite.

At the start of the year, I resolved to take drastic measures to get my track & field body, strength, and endurance back.  I thought of the hardest and most intense work out I’d heard of (aside from the track team’s training program…couldn’t join that because I left the team). First thought in my mind was Crossfit!

I had heard of Crossfit from my good friend Rov a couple of years back. He raved constantly on Twitter about it and became a self-proclaimed Crossfit addict (aka Crackfit). I was interested, but never had the time to try it.  I was also turned off that the place (Libis) was so far from my Makati home.  But with my new-found free time, abs hiding underneath a thick layer of Holiday flab, deteriorating biceps, and a newly opened Crossfit branch close to my home, I decided to give it a try.

I signed up for a free trial session with Crrossfit Manila at the Philippine Army Gymnasium in Taguig.  I entered the box (what they call the place where you do the WOD’s or workout of the day) with sweaty palms.  I had Googled Crossfit WOD’s the night before and was super nervous. This was serious stuff.

The Crossfit Box at the Philippine Army

There were four of us brave souls doing the trial session for the day.  First, we were introduced to the principles behind Crossfit (high intensity, short duration, muscle confusion, natural movements) and taught some basic warm-ups, moves and proper form. We then proceeded to do the trial WOD.  The trial WOD consisted of:

  • 7 pull-ups (I did it with with 2 thin bands for support)
  • 7 burpees
  • 7 box jumps
  • 7 wall balls
  • Time Limit 15mins, do as many rounds as you can

Being the competitive Chickzilla that I am, I asked Coach Byron the most number of rounds a girl had done for the trial WOD. He told me it was 7 or 8.  I kept that in mind while I did the WOD.  I busted my lungs, fatigued my muscles and prayed that it would all soon be over.  I wanted to quit after 5 rounds but told myself that 5 rounds was just too gay for me.  I pushed myself and finished 6 rounds when time was up.  Close enough to the strongest girls!

I felt searing pain all over my body the next day (and the days following).  This was exactly what I was looking for.  This was how I knew that Crossfit was The One.  I was back after 5 days and enrolled for a month.  Here’s what I’ve done so far:

Session 1: Jan 11, Wednesday 7:30am with Miggy

  • squats with 45lb bar and side burpees
  • number of sets depends on number of mins (ex: on minute 2 do 2 sets, minute 9 do 9 sets)
  • Goal: till failure. I lasted 17mins (but after about 8 did each exercise consecutively before doing next: 8 squats then 8 side burpees)

Session 2: Jan 16, Monday 4:30pm with JV

  • 10 overhead press (went from 55 to 35 lbs)
  • 12 pull-ups (with one thick band)
  • 25 burpees
  • Goal: 3 sets. I finished in 14:something mins

Session 3: Jan 18, Wednesday 7:30am with Miggy

  • Benchmark: Wittman Hero WOD
  • 15 kettlebell swings (below RX, I ony used purple kettlebell)
  • 15 power cleans (RX is 65, I did 35 only…so gay)
  • 15 box jumps (RX 24)
  • Goal: 7 rounds.  I finished in 14:27mins

Session 4: Jan 20, Friday 4:30pm with Byron

  • 25 sumo deadlift high pull (25lbs)
  • 20 pull ups
  • 15 push ups
  • 10 push press (25lbs)
  • Goal: 4 rounds. I finished in 14:57mins

As I speak I cant move my arms without feeling pain in my triceps.  Even tying my hair in a ponytail is painful. I love the pain though.  I don’t know if I am imagining this but my jeans feel looser in the thigh area.  Can’t wait to do more this week!  Some people say that Crossfit is the worst 30 minutes of your life.  It definitely is!  But afterwards, you’re gonna keep wanting more.  I’ve become such a fan of the workout, I even dragged along my friends Ange, Honey and Martin once.  Everyone should try!

If you wanna try Crossfit, check out the site here.

Check out this video: What is Crossfit?

XOXO

1 comment

Leave a Reply

