Eating chocolate while running

Before my 13km LSD (that’s “Long, Slow Distance” folks!—not LSD the drug) yesterday, I hungrily sucked on a sachet of GU Mint Chocolate Energy Gel.

GU Mint Chocolate Original Energy Gel

I love it coz it tastes JUST LIKE Lindt Excellence Intense Mint Dark Chocolate!  I’m in LOVE!

Lindt Excellence Intense Mint Dark Chocolate

So I had this 15 minutes before I started my run, and 15 minutes after I chugged down my N.O. Xplode.  The GU official site describes the energy gel:

GU provides athletes with a shot of 100 calories in the form of a patented carbohydrate blend (70-80% maltodextrin and 30-20% fructose) to deliver high-quality, easily-digested and long-lasting energy for athletes in every sport and at all levels. GU also includes electrolytes to ensure proper hydration, an antioxidant blend to stave off muscle tissue damage and an amino acid blend to delay muscle fatigue.

Everything inside each packet of GU is engineered to do one simple thing: provide your body with the essential requirements it needs to keep going for miles and miles and hours and hours. It goes down easy, and it goes to work fast so you don’t have to slow down.

I was pretty ecstatic that I could run 13 kilometers AND have my chocolate.  Who says running nutrition’s gotta be boring? 😉

XOXO

Leave a Reply

